Hawaii, Part 4: Pearl Harbour

Seen as I’d done nothing but surf the entire time I was there I thought I really should do something cultural so I decided to go to Pearl Harbour.

It took an hour or so on the bus to get there (it’s not really near anywhere in particular) and once there I could see a couple of the Battleships, pretty impressive stuff.
The main part of the memorial is free to enter but it’s around $20 per ship to go aboard – no way was I paying that, I’ve been on the HMS Belfast, how different can it be?

Instead I looked at the exhibits chronicling the actual events of the day and eyewitness accounts, pretty shocking and moving stuff, especially seeing the list of dead, it was far too long.

One of the ships stationed there.

Memorial to the fallen.

One of the subs used to hunt Japanese boats.

The memorial was worth the visit, just a shame that some of the exhibits were a bit over priced, still I had a great time and actually learnt a few things… still wish I could of surfed that day aswell.

Leave a Reply

