Fiji, Part 1: Nadi

After a short flight I arrived in Fiji, welcomed into the country by a small band at the welcome made a nice change and meant I was too bothered about the long line at passport control.

Once all that was sorted I headed out and grabbed a cab to my hostel, it was a vintage Toyota, bright yellow so that it looked like a New York one I guess. The driver was friendly, talking to me about English football and pointing out the best places to eat.

I dropped my stuff at the hostel and got talking to a Dutch girl who just arrived, and we decided to check out the beach, despite one of the hostel staff advising us not to, saying some locals might hassle/beg/steal from us (I’m fairly sure she just wanted us to stay there and drink instead as everyone was friendly). The walk down there wasn’t too bad, everyone we passed said “Bula” and the sunset when we got there was pretty awesome.

First sunset in Fiji.

 

The beach at sunset.

Leave a Reply

